Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2019.

Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize 2019.

April 27, 2019.

RRabindranath Tagore was born on 7 May 1861 in Bengal and died on 7 August 1941.  He was a poet, musician, and artist from the Indian subcontinent. He reshaped Bengali Literature and music as well as Indian art with Contextual Modernism in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

Tagore wrote poetry as an eight-year-old. At the age of sixteen, he released his first substantial poems under the pseudonym Bhānusiṃha (“Sun Lion”), which were seized upon by literary authorities as long-lost classics.

He became in 1913 the first non-European to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. Gitanjali (Song Offerings), Gora (Fair-Faced) and Ghare-Baire (The Home and the World) are his best-known works.

His compositions were chosen by two nations as national anthems: India’s Jana Gana Mana and Bangladesh’s Amar Shonar Bangla. The Sri Lankan National Anthem was inspired by his work.[

The second edition of Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize was awarded to author Rana Dasgupta for his 2010 novel “Solo”, a tale of estrangement and the ultimate failure of material existence.

The organizers of the award ceremony said on Tuesday that an amount of $10,000, a Tagore statue and a certificate for contribution to literature were given to Dasgupta.

This global age has very much to learn from Tagore’s global age, which was in many ways more morally and politically acute than ours. “Nine years after ‘Solo’ came out, I am delighted and indeed very surprised to see it receiving fresh recognition.

Dasgupta, who is the literary director of India’s richest literary award, the JCB Prize for Literature, was quoted as saying in a statement, “We must retrieve this lost knowledge: but we must also make of it something new, something strange, something history has never seen before.”

The organizers said that the Prize was also awarded to Taiwan President Tsai Ing-wen as “a beacon of democracy”. The Rabindranath Tagore Literary Prize for social achievement was awarded to Yohei Sasakawa, the World Health Organization’s Goodwill Ambassador for Leprosy Elimination, for “his incredible efforts to uproot leprosy and great contribution to world peace”.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *